The Writers Guild of America has announced the nominees for its sixth annual Videogame Writing Award, which has previously honored titles such as Assassin’s Creed Brotherhood and Uncharted 2: Among Thieves. Nominees for 2012 include the widely-panned 007 Legends, along with more well-received releases from the past year.

Here is the full list of nominees:

  • Halo 4 – Microsoft Studios
  • Assassin’s Creed III – Ubisoft
  • Assassin’s Creed III: Liberation – Ubisoft
  • 007 Legends – Activision?
  • Uncharted: Golden Abyss – Sony Computer Entertainment America
  • Disney Epic Mickey 2 – Disney Interactive Studios 

The award has been criticized in the past for restricting nominees to Videogame Writers Caucus members, potentially excluding deserving games written by non-members, and ensuring that chronic victors such as the Assassin’s Creed and Uncharted series retain a disproportionately high chance of winning. The Guild has defended itself, clarifying its inclusion policy and noting that it is comprised entirely of active industry members.

It is worth bearing in mind that submissions must be published between December 1st 2011 and November 30th 2012 to be eligible, rendering titles such as Far Cry 3 inadmissible for this round of awards. Though no publisher has reported doing so this year, on previous occasions some have gone as far as to abstain from the awards in protest of the members-only criteria.

Less than a month remains before the winners are announced; the 2013 Writers Guild Awards will be held on the 17th of February in simultaneous ceremonies held in New York and Los Angeles. 

Source: Gamespot